•  Cold War Collection
New Flowers

Cold War Collection


  • $17.80

First installment of the eastern bloc series. A Collection of tracks from  one of the first Bulgarian punk bands, 79-95. Punk didn’t have it easy in socialist Bulgaria, a country in which all aggressive rock music was suppressed. This didn’t keep Novi Cvetya (“New Flowers”) from playing it as early as 1979. Based in Kyustendi, a medium-sized town close to the Serbian border, the lads benefited from being able to listen to punk rock on Yugoslav radio. Maybe that is why their sound more strongly resembled late-'70s Yugo-punk bands such as Paraf and Pankrti than anything British or American. New Flowers’s songs are simple and have a typically Balkanese, tongue-in-cheek feel and sense of the absurd. Limited edition of 300 copies.
Track Listing :
  1. Demobbed
  2. We Are Innocent
  3. Revolting Grief
  4. Blake
  5. Kyustendil
  6. Snow
  7. Don't Cry
  8. There Are No Requests
  9. Let's Go To Corecom
  10. Dream
  11. Spring
  12. Erotica And Porn
  13. Patriot
  14. Radiation
  15. After Celebration
  16. Tower Bloc

    Tags: New Flowers, Cold War Collection, LP, Music, hardcore, punk